The Road Goes on Forever, and the Party Never Ends

1618684_10153822497445008_30418394_n

I hadn’t looked at the list for weeks (maybe months?), and then I wandered back to it, scanning it casually when one caught my breath. Number 26. Call my family twice a month. This goal has been met many times over in the last two months, not because I made a newfound commitment to it, but because I needed to reach out to my family, and especially my mom, over and over and over again recently.

My dear dad died on February 8. He hadn’t been in great health for quite some time, but the timing was unexpected and sudden. My heart is broken, and life has felt very heavy since. He was the one who said we didn’t talk enough, that he wanted to hear from me more. And I truly regret that I didn’t reach out more often, even just to say hello. My dad didn’t have an enemy in the world, and looked at life as a fun adventure. I am so lucky I got to be his daughter.

Leave a Reply

